Quincy News

Honoree Mast has always found satisfaction in volunteering efforts

Harold Mast, center, receives the 2020 Golden Deeds Award on July 29 from the Quincy Exchange Club Golden Deeds Committee at the Tangerine Bowl. The award is given annually to a recipient who is sincere about helping the community, has an exceptional track record of continued, unselfish giving and enjoys volunteering to help others. | Submitted Photo
By Herald-Whig
Posted: Aug. 8, 2020 12:01 am

QUINCY — Harold Mast has never sought the spotlight.

"I didn't do it for the awards," he said.

He's always done what he felt was the right thing to do.

Always has, always will.

Mast, 78, is the recipient of the Exchange Club's 68th annual Golden Deeds award. The accolade is the most distinguished honor the Exchange Club presents each year.

Recipients have made a positive impact in a variety of ways on the lives of people in Quincy. The award places Mast's name in the club's Book of Golden Deeds, which showcases letters written on behalf of recipients by those who have firsthand knowledge of their efforts.

Fittingly, Harold Mast joins his twin brother, Gerald "Jerry" Mast, as a Golden Deeds award winner. Gerald Mast was honored in 2008.

Between the two of them, the Masts have contributed more than 100 years of volunteer service to the community through their work with Quincy Notre Dame High School, Quincy University, the Boy Scouts, RSVP, Honor Flight, local hunting and fishing organizations, American Red Cross and other causes.

"It's up to an individual to make the most of his spare time," Harold Mast said.

Mast said some like to use their spare time to play golf or some other activity.

"I've always liked to volunteer," he said. "It's been a pleasure for me to help all of these years."

Those Mast has assisted over the years are appreciative of what he has done.

"Harold has been a tireless worker and volunteer for 47 years at QU," said Marty Bell, the QU athletic director for the past 16 years. "He is incredibly reliable and trustworthy. "Whether it is taking tickets, working concessions or parking vehicles, Harold has been and continues to be reliable and loyal.

"People like Harold are why communities like Quincy are safe, comfortable and enjoyable places to live."

Bill Connell, the longtime athletic director at QND, says Mast is as reliable as the day is long.

"No matter if it's rain or shine, Harold is always here," Connell said.

Harold Mast and Gerald Mast also are members of the Quincy Notre Dame Hall of Fame, inducted in 2013.

Cullan Duke, who helps coordinate the Golden Deeds selection committee for the Exchange Club, noted that the Mast brothers have volunteered at QND since 1968.

Rick Gengenbacher, also a member of the Exchange Club, is another fan of Mast's.

"This really is a special award, and Harold is most deserving," Gengenbacher said. "This award honors those who work behind the scenes. It's to recognize those kind of people, too."

Mast was honored by the Exchange Club at a recent reception at the Tangerine Bowl. The Golden Deeds recipient is normally acknowledged at a special luncheon, but the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic forced this year's event to be canceled.


Quincy Exchange Club Golden Deeds Award winners

2020: Harold Mast

2019: Kirk Frageman

2018: Kevin and Pat Steinkamp

2017: Margaret Andrews

2016: Jack Mackenzie

2015: Phil Conover

2014: Patty Adam

2013: JoAnn Witte

2012: Hazel Mills

2011: Tom Behrens

2010: Phyllis Smith

2009: Kevin Curran

2008: Jerry Mast

2007: Ada Himes

2006: Bill Hageman

2005: Herb Wellman

2004: Randy McFarland

2003: Linda Dillman

2002: Betty Wiewel

2001: Melvin Koch

2000: Harold Phillips

1999: Raymond Hinkamper

1998: Carl Landrum

1997: Russell Hess Sr.

1996: Thomas Gott

1995: Isabelle and Bernie Willer

1994: Roger Mohrman

1993: Arlene Foley

1992: Martha Muegge

1991: Thomas Awerkamp

1980: Marjorie Hudson

1989: Wilhelmina (Billie) Brod

1988: Donald Heckenkamp

1987: Joanne Ortwerth

1986: George Parsons

1985: Marie Sloan

1984: Mary Ann Gullen

1983: Carlene Geisler

1982: Minnie Schlinkman

1981: Doris Penington

1980: Mrs. John French

1979: Betty Pracht

1978: Kathleen Peters-Druffel

1977: R.S. Brackman

1976: Ethel Fletcher

1975: Joe Bonansinga

1974: Ruth Logan

1973: Genevieve Klingele

1972: Howard Wear

1971: Ralph Meyers

1970: Edward Altmix

1969: Thomas Oakley

1968: Helen Smith

1967: Irma Jones

1966: George Durst Sr.

1965: Deloris Hase

1964: Ralph "Doc" Wiegmann

1963: Mary McAllister

1962: Dr. Harold Swanberg

1961: Helen Jarrett

1960: James Primrose

1959: C.H. Swinehart

1958: Fabiola Moorman

1957: Lawrence Steinkamp

1956: John Inghram Sr.

1955: Eugene Kirkpatrick

1954: Mabel Ahern

1953: Harry Love