Prep Baseball

All-Area Baseball: Second team and honorable mention

By Herald-Whig
Posted: Jun. 10, 2018 12:01 am Updated: Jun. 10, 2018 12:29 am

Second team

Grant Plenge, C, Jr., Clark County

Tommy Ray, 1B, Jr., Notre Dame

Logan Voth, 2B, Jr., Unity

Peyton Stegeman, SS, Jr., Notre Dame

Avery Spilker, 3B, Sr., Liberty

Matthew Schwiete, OF, Sr., Quincy

Peyton Plunkett, OF, Sr., Palmyra

Zeb Riney, OF, Sr., Clark County

Shad Flesner, P, Soph., Southeastern

Chas Shockley, P, Sr., North Shelby

Wyatt Waelder, P, Sr., Hannibal

Lucas Loos, UT, Soph., Payson Seymour

Joe Hendricker, UT, Sr., Brown County

Tommy Harvey, UT, Sr., Highland

Matt Shover, UT, Sr., Western


Honorable mention

Peyton Abbott, C, Palmyra; Carson Birck, INF/P, Canton; Tanner Cannady, OF, Payson Seymour; Brad Cheek, C, Monroe City; Austin Cornwell, OF, Unity; Jacob Deitrich, INF/P, Illini West; Dax Flowerree, SS/P, Quincy; Dylan Foley, OF/P, Notre Dame; Will Fromm, INF, Scotland County; Jacob Gresham, C/P, Pittsfield; Brady Hieland, SS/P, Payson Seymour; Hayden Hoerr, P, Palmyra; Derek Howes, INF, Highland; Kollen Hughes, INF/P, Central; Luke Jansen, INF, Unity; Ben Janssen, C/P, Southeastern; Reed Jibben, OF, Central; Travis Johnson, OF/P, Payson Seymour; Eric Jones, INF/P, Central; Todd Kelly, INF/P, Unity; Coby Kessler, OF, Highland; Chase Kirby, C, Hannibal; Griffin Kirn, P, Notre Dame; Kirby Latimer, INF/P, North Shelby; Dalton Lentz, 1B, Liberty; Malachi Lentz, 1B/P, Notre Dame; Lance Loos, INF/P, Payson Seymour; Jacob McIntire, INF, Pittsfield; Noah Mencer, INF/P, Palmyra; Dayton Mettes, OF, North Shelby; Jon Moore, OF/P, Pittsfield; Grant Peebles, INF, Pleasant Hill; Trey Peters, INF, Liberty; Cole Schwartz, OF/P, Payson Seymour; Nick Schwartz, C, Notre Dame; Drake Serbin, INF/P, Canton; Isaac Shaw, INF/P, Pittsfield; Parker Shelton, C, Payson Seymour; Justin Shireman, C, Pleasant Hill; Dawson Shively, INF, Monroe City; Brody Smith, INF/P, Canton; Koy Smith, OF/P, Canton; Alex Stratman, 1B/P, Quincy; Cade Tomhave, INF/P, Pittsfield; Mason Uhlmeyer, C/P, North Shelby; Dylan Venvertloh, OF, Notre Dame; Nick Vorhies, INF, Illini West; Sheldon Whetstone, INF/P, Marion County; Casey Williams, INF/P, Mark Twain; Gabe Worthington, INF, Hannibal.



The 2018 Herald-Whig Baseball All-Area Team was selected by members of The Herald-Whig staff. Players were nominated for All-Area recognition by their high school coaches. Not all players who were nominated were recognized.


Knox County and West Hancock did not respond to requests for nominations.